Release Date: 07/02/2021

Splendiferous is a vision collection of incredible songs that I feel needed to be shared with the listeners’ heart. I personally compiled the songs in a flow that speaks to me and tells a story, outside of time. The songs are assigned and designed to unite and celebrate humanity and bring healing and intimacy. I invite you to turn it up and join us for a glorious ride and enjoy ‘The Summer of Santana!’ It’s going to be Splendiferous!” says Carlos Santana.

Splendiferous Santana focuses on the too-often-underappreciated, yet creatively fertile period following Santana's 1998 induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the massive success of 1999's Supernatural, which took home nine Grammy Awards (including Album of the Year) while earning 15x platinum RIAA status and selling 30 million copies worldwide.

In the wake of Supernatural, Santana released a series of remarkable recordings--among them 2003's Shaman, 2005's All That I Am and 2014's Corazón--that stand with the best that Carlos, or his band, have ever made. Many of these songs and performances were overlooked at the time of their release and are being presented anew on Splendiferous Santana as essential musical elements in the Santana canon.

When choosing his favorite tracks for Splendiferous Santana, Carlos selected nine songs each from Shaman and All That I Am, six from Corazón (including the "La Flaca" single featuring Juanes), three from 2007's Ultimate Santana, two from 2019's Africa Speaks (featuring vocalist Buika) and one from 2012's Shape Shifter.

Guest artists collaborating with Santana on the Splendiferous Santana compilation include Plácido Domingo ("Novus), Ismaila and Touré Kunda ("Con Santana"), ("I Am Somebody"), Samuel Rosa (Saideira), Los Fabulosos Cadillacs ("Mal Bicho"), Macy Gray ("Amoré (Sexo)"), Seal ("You Are My Kind"), Chad Kroeger ("Into the Night"), Sean Paul and Joss Stone ("Cry Baby Cry"), Anthony Hamilton ("Twisted"), Musiq ("Nothing At All"), Citizen Cope ("Sideways"), Alejandro Lerner ("Hoy Es Adios"), Diego Torres ("Amor Correspondido"), Kirk Hammett ("Trinity"), Tina Turner ("The Game of Love"), Gloria Estefan ("Beijo de Longe"), Romeo Santos ("Margarita"), Bo Bice ("Brown Skin Girl"), Steven Tyler ("Just Feel Better"), Juanes ("La Flaca") and Buika ("Yo Me Lo Merezco," "Candombe Cumbele").

View the special Liner Notes by Carlos, Karl Perazzo and Tommy Anthony.